Saturday, May 9, 2009
Holy Shit! It's been a long time... I miss you, Blog... :(
Since my last blog post a lot of things have happened in my life. Here's the main points:
1) I got engaged.
2) I bought a new (to me) car.
3) I began working full time for the first time in my life.
4) I began umpiring a LOT of baseball games ranging from youth baseball to HS Varsity.
5) I have attended three Cardinals' games (to which they won all three!)
6) I found out that all of these things above really take up a lot of time in my life.
Now, there's a lot that I would like to write about, but I won't create another 10 page post (written in MS Word) like I did in my first post. Instead I'm just going to ramble on for a couple of paragraphs in order to get my blogging fix in.
Yesterday I went down to Murray, KY to pick up my sister from college. My little brother went with me, and we made the 3 hour trip together. Too bad it took us 5 hours to get down there due to the storms blowing a shitton of trees on the interstate. We were bumper to bumper for 20 miles on the interstate! That blew a lot of ass, but once we got down there, packing my sister's things up didn't take too long. We then got to throw the frisbee around which really gave me the itch to play some Ultimate! Anyways, we didn't get back home until midnight, and I concluded my day by spending 10 hours behind the wheel. Makes for a long day.
Well, other than work, my life has been consumed by Cardinals' baseball. I am VERY excited with how this team has performed so far this season (sans the last 7 games as of today). I'm saddened to see that Carp went down early on this year, but at least its not for the whole year (fingers crossed!) Also, I would like to see Rick make a quick and full recovery from his meeting with the wall earlier this week. Lastly, I am very surprised to see how Baby Dunc is hitting so far this season. I said that I just wished he would just go away before the season started, but I fully retract my statement that I made. He's been a pleasant surprise, and I hope it stays that way for the rest of the year. A couple of other things to point out. Skip looks like its working in the second base project, Franklin has secured the closer's role (for now), Waino really needs to turn it around soon, Pujols is the man, and I still think that this team has potential but just not for this year. I can sadly still see them fizzling out before the year is out. Honestly, the Reds look good this year. They may be the team to beat...
Well, that's all I got for tonight. Hopefully my next blog post won't be at the end of June!
Friday, March 13, 2009
Only two more days until Selection Sunday!!
There hasn't been any automatic bids handed out in the past couple of days, but there have been some bubble teams on the move since my last bracket projection. I'll get into more depth about some of those bubble teams, but for now here is the list of automatic bids to the NCAA tournament:
Cornell (Ivy)
Radford (Big South)
E. Tenn. State (Atlantic Sun)
Morehead State (OVC)
Northern Iowa (MVC)
Gonzaga (WCC)
VCU (CAA)
Siena (MAAC)
Chattanoga (Southern)
Western Kentucky (Sun Belt)
Cleveland State (Horizon)
Robert Morris (NEC)
North Dakota State (Summit)
Portland State (Big Sky)
Again, the most surprising of all of these teams is Cleveland State who beat Butler in the Horizon league championship game. This both locked up a spot for the Vikings for the first time in 23 years, and it took away an at-large bid as the Bulldogs are already considered a lock to make the NCAA tournament. The room for error in the world of bubble teams just got smaller.
NEW LOCKS:
Dayton
Oklahoma State
Boston College
Dayton’s road to the Atlantic 10 championship game got a lot easier as Rhode Island was upset by Duquesne yesterday. This also ended URI’s hopes of getting an at-large bid. The Flyers should have an easy road to getting an at-large bid if they do happen to either lose to Duquesne or a potential matchup with Xavier for the Atlantic 10 championship.
Oklahoma State pretty much secured their at-large bid with their win over Oklahoma yesterday. Not much more to say about them.
Boston College has three marquee wins over ACC locks. A win tonight over the Blue Devils would lock up an at-large bid for sure (if they don’t win the ACC tournament, of course). I still think that they are in even if they lose.
Obviously there is still a lot of time for some of the bubble teams to move up or down on this list with some of the games being played as I type, but here are my rankings of bubble teams. At the top of the list is the most safe team, and the bottom of the list contains teams that are most likely to have their bubble busted.
- Ohio State
- Wisconsin
- Michigan
- Penn State
- Minnesota
- San Diego State
- Texas A&M
- New Mexico
- St. Mary’s
- Creighton
Ohio State, like the rest of the Big Ten bubble teams, can write their own way into the NCAA tournament by winning games in the Big Ten tournament. As I am typing, I am also watching the matchup between Ohio State and Wisconsin. I think this game is way more important to the Badgers because if they lose, their bubble hopes might become slim, depending on how the rest of the bubble field does. OSU should be in the tournament regardless.
Creighton might benefit from the fact that their conference tournament ended long before the rest of the bubble teams’ tournaments will end. The selection committee might forget about the bad loss to Illinois State, and Creighton might move back into contention of an at-large bid depending on how other bubble teams fare (Minnesota, SDSU, New Mexico)
The rest of the teams are still going to have to fight for their projected at-large bids with these teams :
- UNLV
- Arizona
- Providence
- South Carolina
- Temple
- Auburn
UNLV drops out of the “last four in” due to losing to a fellow bubble team in SDSU. The Aztecs swept UNLV three times, so that is a pretty easy comparison.
The rest of these teams on this list all have/will have one thing in common (except for South Carolina and Auburn). They have all lost in their respective conference tournaments which don’t help their chances. I’m assuming that Temple is going to lose to Xavier tonight, but if the Owls do happen to pull off the upset, they can climb back into the at-large bubble hopefuls. In the case of South Carolina, they are playing in a WEAK Southeastern Conference, and I believe that they will have to play into the SEC Championship game in order to be considered as the fourth SEC team to receive a bid to the NCAA tournament. In Auburn’s case, they have just played their way onto this list by beating LSU. A victory over Florida will help their chances. However, they must win out in order to get into the NCAA tournament, but it’s nice to be mentioned I guess…
There has been a lot of talk about the Big Ten getting eight teams into the tournament. As this is very tough, I am also very excited to see that this might happen. Being an Illinois alumnus, I always seem to root for Big Ten teams. I think that the style of play in the Big Ten won’t get their teams very deep into the tournament (maybe Sweet 16), I do think that eight teams is within grasp. If Penn State and Minnesota win and move on into the next round of Big Ten tournament play, eight teams is a realistic possibility. However, if one of those two teams loses, the Big Ten might only get seven into the NCAA tournament. Either way, I’m very excited to see at least 64% of the Big Ten teams make it into the tournament. Not even the Big East can boast a percentage of teams getting in that high.
With all of this talk, here is my bracket for today. We’ll see how this might change tomorrow. I will for sure get a bracket up tomorrow night or Sunday morning before the actual Selection Show comes on Sunday afternoon. Then I would like to see how bad my bracket is compared to what the selection committee decides.
Tuesday, March 10, 2009
I'm slacking on my rankings ... It's too nice outside!
Nine conferences (including the Ivy league) have wrapped up their respective conference tournaments. Each winning team received their automatic bid. These teams are as follows:
Cornell (Ivy)
Radford (Big South)
E. Tenn. State (Atlantic Sun)
Morehead State (OVC)
Northern Iowa (MVC)
Gonzaga (WCC)
VCU (CAA)
Siena (MAAC)
Chattanoga (Southern)
There's a couple of surprises here, and bubble teams are not happy with surprises in the mid-major conferences. Creighton lost out in the semifinal game against Illinois State who then lost to Northern Iowa. This does one of two things: 1) Creighton is most likely NIT-bound, or 2) it knocks out one bubble team if Creighton does somehow get in the NCAA tournament. The same thing happened in the Southern conference. Davidson is surely headed to the NIT tournament, so bubble teams can breathe a little easier as Davidson wrote their own ticket out of the bubble watch.
Luckily for the bubble teams, Siena and Gonzaga easily won their respective conference tournament. Gonzaga was considered a lock to get in, so bubble teams were happy to see that the WCC won't be sending two teams (unless St. Mary's receives an at-large bid on their own). In the MAAC, Siena would have been in consideration for an at-large bid if they happened to lose their conference tournament, but they won't have to sweat it out until Sunday as they have their bid for sure now. Bubble teams rejoice!
I've revamped my bubble listing, and it goes as follows (most likely to get in to least likely to get in as an at-large team):
- Dayton
- Ohio State
- Boston College
- Wisconsin
- Texas A&M
- Oklahoma State
- New Mexico
- Utah State
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Penn State
- St. Mary’s
- UNLV
- South Carolina
- Arizona
I have Utah State in bold, because they can play their way off of this list and into the tournament by winning the WAC conference tournament. This leaves these teams on the outside looking in (from first snubbed to last snubbed):
- Providence
- Rhode Island
- Northwestern
- San Diego State
- Creighton
- Temple
- Kansas State
- Florida
- Davidson
I'm keeping Davidson on the watch just because the selection committee might put them in due to the fact that the nation might want to watch Curry in the national spotlight again, but I doubt that happens.
Providence didn't get any help from Cincinnati last night as the Bearcats lost to DePaul, the bottom feeders of the Big East. If Cincy would have won, Providence would have had a little better win to their resume than that of the Blue Demons. I think that Providence has to beat Louisville in order to get in. If not, they are NIT-bound.
Northwestern plays Minnesota in the 8/9 game in the Big Ten tournament. This is a big game for both teams, as Northwestern (who I previously did have in the tournament) needs two wins to be seriously considered for an at-large bid, and Minnesota definitely doesn't need a loss to Northwestern to haunt them going into Selection Sunday. Minnesota could easily drop out of the bubble rankings with a loss to the Wildcats. The winner gets to face Michigan State. If either team beats State in that game, consider them a lock.
With that, here is my bracket for March 10th:
I did have a change in the top seeds, although it was just flip-flopping North Carolina and Pittsburg as the overall number one seed. They will both get the same regional that they had previously, and I don't see them losing their number one seeds even with an early loss in their respective conference tournaments.
I'll try to do better tomorrow...
Sunday, March 8, 2009
Well, the bandwagon trip was short... Thanks to Michigan
I did make some changes in my bracket, but I’m really torn as to who deserves the fourth seeds in my bracket. It seems as though all of my 4 and 5 seeds either lost or just made it into the conversation of these seeds. So, I decided to keep LSU in as a four seed, even though they lost yesterday. This might change if they have an early exit in the weak SEC tournament.
I’ve also been watching some of the mid-major conference tournaments, and I really enjoyed watching the VMI/Radford matchup for the Big West Championship game. I don’t think I’ve ever seen two conflicting styles of play in a competitive D-1 basketball game. I was silently rooting for VMI, because I thought that the leading scoring team in the NCAAs for the past three years would have been a scary team in the Big Dance. However, they didn’t have a big guy to match up against Radford’s 6’ 11” center. Radford prevailed and they are goin’ dancin’. Other teams that received an automatic bid are: East Tennessee State (Atlantic Sun), Morehead State (Ohio Valley Conference) and Cornell (Ivy). They are in bold in my bracket.
Here’s the bracket before Sunday’s games begin:
Friday, March 6, 2009
A little more than a week until the real thing...
There were only a couple of changes in my rankings from yesterday, the most notable being my alma mater. Illinois lost in a heartbreaker last night to Penn State. Penn State deserved to win that game, and Illinois shot like they deserved to lose. If a team only scores three points in the last 5-7 minutes of the game, you shouldn't expect to win. Therefore, Illinois drops out of their number four seed.
The team that takes over for Illinois in the four spot is the X-Men. They had a commanding win over Dayton last night, solidifing a fourth seed in my bracket. Xavier looked strong, and I'm excited to see how they are going to fare in the NCAA tournament.
South Carolina dropped the most in my rankings after losing to Tennessee last night. Tennessee on the other hand, moved into the lock category in my mind, ensuring their spot in the Big Dance. South Carolina however, is on the verge of having their bubble busted if they have an early exit in their conference tournament.
I would like to introduce the surprise team into my bracket. Are you ready?! Welcome to the Big Dance, NORTHWESTERN! That's right, I'm jumping on the bandwagon and I'm putting them in the tournament. This also gives the Big Ten eight teams in the NCAA tournament, something I am hoping will happen. Either way, I just wanted to get them in before you did, Barnes. That way I can say that my bracket is better if in fact Northwestern does get in.
Here's what I have for my bracket:
Let me know what you think...
Thursday, March 5, 2009
Competition is a healthy thing
In response to Barnes's posts about the upcoming NCAA tournament, I have decided to do my own projected bracket, and I will update it accordingly. This was my first crack at this, so it took me a little while to come up with this. After about two hours, this is what I came up with:
East Regional (Boston)
(1)Connecticut vs. (16) Bowling Green (Philadelphia)
(8) California vs. (9) Boston College (Philadelphia)
(5) Purdue vs. (12) St. Mary’s (Miami)
(4) LSU vs. (13) Cornell (Miami)
(6) Butler vs. (11) Texas A&M (Minneapolis)
(3) Missouri vs. (14) Weber State (Minneapolis)
(7) West Virginia vs. (10) Wisconsin (Philadelphia)
(2) Wake Forest vs. (15) Jacksonville (Philadelphia)
South Regional (Memphis)
(1) North Carolina vs. (16) Radford (Greensboro)
(8) Dayton vs. (9) Ohio State (Greensboro)
(5) Clemson vs. (12) Penn State (Portland)
(4) Marquette vs. (13) Western Kentucky (Portland)
(6) UCLA vs. (11) South Carolina (Miami)
(3) Louisville vs. (14) American University (Miami)
(7) BYU vs. (10) New Mexico (Minneapolis)
(2) Michigan State vs. (15) Vermont (Minneapolis)
Midwest Regional (Indianapolis)
(1) Pittsburg vs. (16) Cal St. Northridge/Alabama St. (Dayton)
(8) Utah vs. (9) Rhode Island (Dayton)
(5) Gonzaga vs. (12) Siena (Boise)
(4) Illinois vs. (13) VCU (Boise)
(6) Arizona State vs. (11) Utah State (Dayton)
(3) Kansas vs. (14) Stephen F. Austin (Dayton)
(7) Syracuse vs. (10) Oklahoma State (Greensboro)
(2) Duke vs. (15) Morgan State (Greensboro)
West Regional (Arizona)
(1) Memphis vs. (16) Tennessee Martin (Kansas City)
(8) Texas vs. (9) Minnesota (Kansas City)
(5) Xavier vs. (12) Davidson (Boise)
(4) Washington vs. (13) North Dakota State (Boise)
(6) Florida State vs. (11) Creighton (Portland)
(3) Villanova vs. (14) Morgan State (Portland)
(7) Tennessee vs. (10) Providence (Kansas City)
(2) Oklahoma vs. (15) Robert Morris (Kansas City)
I did my best to follow the guidelines of not letting conference opponents meet up until at least the regional final (elite eight). I'll get a little more in depth as to why some teams are in and some teams are out next time. For now, these are the teams I was deciding between:
Just got in:
St. Mary's, South Carolina, Penn State
Just got left out:
Arizona, Michigan, San Diego State, UNLV, Northwestern
After tonight's round of games, I'll get more in depth of some of the bubble teams and why I think they deserve to get in.
Next week marks one of my favorite weeks in all of sports: the conference tournaments! I almost like the conference tourneys more than the actual Big Dance itself. Don't get me wrong, the first two rounds of the NCAA tournament are stellar, but I love watching each conference have it's teams battle it out for their respective conference title. Not to mention, a lot of bubble teams can prove why they deserve to be in the NCAA tournament during that week as well.
Here's to a great week in college basketball!
Wednesday, March 4, 2009
Too Many Rants --- Here's a Rave
Last night I attended a concert at Pop's in Sauget, IL. In case you don't know where Pop's or Saguet is, you should. Saguet is the known place for strip clubs in the St. Louis area, and Pop's is one of the best places to go to see live music up close. Anyway, I had the pleasure of attending a rock concert headlined by the band 10 Years. This was my eighth time seeing these guys live, and I think they seem to get better every time that I get to see them perform live.
As I am a huge concert go-er (I've attend more than 200 concerts), so this process isn't anything new to me: Get to the venue, drink a couple of beers during the opening acts, see if the opening acts are good enough to check out in the future, rock out like crazy during the sets that my favorite bands play, head home (and mad that it ended so soon!). Last night was no different. There were four bands that played last night: Allusive, The Leo Project, Adelitas Way and 10 Years.
The first band called Allusive is a St. Louis local band. They were pretty good, but it sounded too generic. Every song was about four minutes long, and they all seemed to have the same guitar riffs for each song. Still, not a bad band.
The Leo Project wasn't bad either. They sounded like a cross between Shinedown, Theory of a Deadman and Bullet for my Valentine. They put on a good show, but its just not my cup of tea. The lyrics were too sing-songy. I like more screaming and yelling in my lyrics. It was still nice to say that I saw them though; just in case they do hit it big. Here's a picture of them performing:
The last band before 10 Years was Adelitas Way. They sounded like a cross between Theory of a Deadman and Breaking Benjamin. They weren't bad, but I think the best thing about them was their lead guitarist. Man, he could whale! Again, like the other bands, they just sounded too generic to the rock music that is being put out nowadays (i.e. Nickelback, Hinder and other shit-rock bands that are making it big right now). I would like to see bands be a little bit more experimental with their music. I think that is why I like the bands I do ... one of them being 10 Years.
Which brings me to the band I was there to see. I ended up being in the second row, on the right side of the stage for the entire set. I did get a look at the set list before the show started, so I had a good idea as to what was going to be played. I was very excited to see some of the songs on there that I haven't seen them perform live before. They came out and I just went nuts. Like every other time I've seen them, they seemed to recognize me right away. Matt, the guitarist, gave me a head nod even before the first song was over, and Jesse (the lead singer) pointed me out within the first two or three songs. During one of the songs Jesse sang the lyrics, "You are as confused as I am" and he bent over right in front of me and tapped my forehead as he sang the line. Later on, he reached out and grabbed my hand and pointed right at me for another line in one of the songs. Lewis (the bassist) was loving or little 10 Years loving group that we had going on right in front of him, and he showed us some love throughout the show. The highlight of the night for me was when they finished up their set list, and Jesse threw his towel that he was using and threw it to me. Just add that to my collection of 10 Years memorabilia. I now own two set lists, a guitar pick, a drum stick, several signatures and pictures and now a towel.
After the show, we stuck around to talk to the guys from 10 Years. The drummer, Brian, was sick, so he didn't come out although he usually doesn't anyways. Tater (the guitarist) never comes out as he is a big pothead, and that's all he does after shows. So, Lewis, Matt and Jesse were the three band members to come out after the show. Jesse had a long line of people waiting to talk to him, so the group I was with decided to wait until the line was shorter so we could talk with him for a little bit. Meanwhile, Lewis made it a point to come over to our table and talk to us. I thought that was pretty cool for a band member to come over to a table of fans to say hi. That means he must really like us! He sat and talked with us for a little bit, and he gave me a story about American Head Charge (my favorite band of all time) that I really enjoyed. I was wearing my AHC shirt, so that's how that story struck up in conversation. Lewis then got pulled away by some other fans wanting a picture, so we decided to make our way to talk to Jesse. While in line, I went over and said hi to Matt. He was sitting at a table with some other people, so I didn't talk with him long, but he also pointed out my shirt and commented on how crazy AHC is. 10 Years had the privilage of touring with them several years ago, so I'm sure they got to see the craziness of AHC quite a bit. I then bid Matt farewell, and got back in line to talk to Jesse.
When it was our turn to chat, Jesse immediately shook my hand and gave me a "man hug." He defintiely remembered us from the other seven shows that we've seen them play. He is really good to his fans, and especially those that are very loyal (like myself). We got to ask him a few questions, and he gave me another story about AHC. Those guys must really like them as well! Jesse then told us about the newest single, and gave us some love for coming to the show and hanging out afterwords to see them. We probably chatted for about five minutes, and he said that he probably should get on to the next people in line. It seemed like he would have liked to talk longer, but duty calls when you're the lead singer in a band.
Jessie and Brian playing "So Long, Goodbye"
Tuesday, February 24, 2009
Update on my Cardinals' preview (to those who care)
Speaking of a former fourth outfielder, Skip Schumaker will also be starting for the Cardinals tomorrow. At second base. Word from Jupiter, FL is that he is progressing along nicely, and that this whole Skip-playing-second idea might just work out. It's waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay to early for me to tell though.
By the way, I heard that of the three guys vying for the starting spot at second, there are only 18 combined starts between those three at second base in the majors. COMBINED. And the guy who is considered to be the favorite (Schu) has had ZERO. Chew on that one for a little bit.
Word on Chris Carpenter is that he is throwing well, but his command is still not there. Hopefully he can get it fine tuned over the next month (WITHOUT INJURY).
If the favorites in each of the position battles work out, I would like to see the Opening Day starting lineup look something like this:
If Duncan Starts:
Schumaker (2B)
Duncan (LF)
Pujols (1B)
Ankiel (CF)
Ludwick (RF)
Molina (C)
Mather (3B)
Carp/Waino (P)
Greene (SS)
If Rasmus starts:
Schumaker (2B)
Mather (3B)
Pujols (1B)
Ankiel (CF) - Because LaRussa isn't going to put Rasmus in center
Ludwick (RF)
Molina (C)
Greene (SS)
Carp/Waino (P)
Rasmus (LF)
Lastly, for the record, I am not sold on Colby Rasmus cracking the big league roster for Opening Day. A lot of people are, but I am still not one of them. Partly because of LaRussa's favoritism toward Chris Duncan, and partly because I just don't think he will have that good of a Spring Training. Hopefully I will be proved wrong, and the Cardinals' starting outfield would look something like this:
LF - Ludwick
RF - Ankiel
CF - Rasmus
I know this would never happen, sadly. This is because of LaRussa's mind that Ankiel and Rasmus have about the same abilities of patrolling center. This is stupid in the fact that Rasmus has been groomed as a center fielder ever since he started making his way up the ranks in the minors. Also, with Ank's arm, who the hell would run on him to try and stretch a hit down the first base line from a double into a triple. Chances are, not many. Also, Ludwick has proven that he can field all three positions, so he could work in left. Wow, I can't wait until LaRussa is out as the Cardinals' manager and Oquendo can take over!

